Being Patriotic on a non National Day

21 Nov

As part of one of my modules, we were invited to attend (or watch) a concert put up by the Music & Drama Company under the SAF (i think). Basically, it was to celebrate MDC’s 40th anniversary and honestly, it was my first time hearing of it.

20131121_144645

Most of my course mates were… almost uninterested. They were dreading it as they felt that they were being forced to attend it. However, I was secretly anticipating it slightly more than the rest. Not 100%, but probably about 65%? Maybe slightly more.

Mmmm, overall it wasn’t very entertaining but that may be because of my higher expectation for theater work, regardless of whether is it a Musical or Performance or what not. But nonetheless, I appreciated their effect in putting up the show.

HOWEVER, there were some performances that were really great. Probably because there were performances by local youth artiste and honestly they weren’t bad at all. We had Sezairi Sezali & Shigga Shay in the house!~

20131121_152333 20131121_162817 20131121_16443720131121_164915

Those were probably the two artiste performances that I enjoyed the most and the other was the SAF Band & Fancy/Precision Drill.

It’s like memories y’know? Band, Marching, and currently dance. Though the dancers were clearly trained more in contemporary or modern dance cause honestly more of them couldn’t pull of other Genres especially Hip Hop. 

I was surprised to see Fong’s name on the booklet and honestly thought that it was probably someone with a similar name but the shock I got when I saw him backstage. Haha! Well Fong is a Lion City Locker from The Basic Five and also my Foreign Bodies Senior. A much respected Senior, He’s rather popular in Singapore~

Another surprise I got was seeing Jin Wen at the show as well! 

Managed to have a random chit chat session with Shigga Shay while walking past and woah, his complexion is seriously good. Like, HOW?!?! (Yes, we went backstage cause we’re awesome)

Honestly I felt thankful because I got to hear Sezairi’s New song which has not been released yet so BONUS!

So it was a not so bad day… and also because My lecturer drove me back to school so I saved on my transport cost. 

And then it was practice to end the day. 

Leave a Reply

